PDA

View Full Version : Remote Mount Point in FSTAB



carnold6
27-Apr-2012, 03:53
SLES11 SP1 64 bit. I have a nas share that i would like to mount at boot time. The path to the nas share is //nas/Backup. If i edit fstab to look like this:

/dev/sdb2 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 / ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 1
/dev/sdb1 /opt ext3 acl,user_xattr 1 2
//nas/Backup/BCS /media/NAS/Backup cifs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs noauto 0 0
debugfs /sys/kernel/debug debugfs noauto 0 0
usbfs /proc/bus/usb usbfs noauto 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0620,gid=5 0 0

Would this work or would this break something? When i run:

mount.cifs //nas/Backup/BCS/Server /mnt/Backup/BCS/Server
i am prompted for a password. So i run:

mount.cifs //nas/Backup/BCS/Server /mnt/Backup/BCS/Server -o user=admin
and this mounts when i enter the password.

malcolmlewis
27-Apr-2012, 04:07
SLES11 SP1 64 bit. I have a nas share that i would like to mount at boot
time. The path to the nas share is //nas/Backup. If i edit fstab to look
like this:


2 //NAS/BACKUP/BCS /MEDIA/NAS/BACKUP CIFS DEFAULTS 0 0


Hi
Use _netdev rather than defaults


//nas/Backup/BCS/Server /mnt/Backup/BCS/Server cifs guest,_netdev 0 0

or

//nas/Backup/BCS/Server /mnt/Backup/BCS/Server cifs username=server_user,password=secret,_netdev 0 0

_netdev delays the mounting to allow for the network.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.10-1.9-desktop
up 1 day 0:14, 4 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.08
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

carnold6
07-May-2012, 02:17
Thanks Malcolm. I just encountered an issue of running out of disk space!! Which makes no sense to me (either I did something wrong or this is the way it works in Linux). It appears that the mount point also stored ALL the backups on /!! The backups are on the nas and /mnt/Backup/BCS/Server/..... It's my understanding that the data on the mount should not be in both places?

malcolmlewis
07-May-2012, 02:30
Thanks Malcolm. I just encountered an issue of running out of disk
space!! Which makes no sense to me (either I did something wrong or this
is the way it works in Linux). It appears that the mount point also
stored ALL the backups on /!! The backups are on the nas and
/mnt/Backup/BCS/Server/..... It's my understanding that the data on the
mount should not be in both places?



Hi
Strange.... Can you post the output from
[/CODE]
mount
cat /etc/fstab
df -k
[/CODE]

Please munge any sensitive information before posting ;)

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.10-1.9-desktop
up 1 day 23:21, 5 users, load average: 0.00, 0.04, 0.14
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU