PDA

View Full Version : Firefox / IE - on Linux - Web Site Limitations



jpquinn
01-Oct-2012, 17:51
I'm not sure if this is the right group to post in, seems like the closest.

I am on SLES 11 SP2, and have Firefox 10 for the browser. I can go to a certain Web site (www.acm.org), and get all the way to the 'Launch Course', and it not run the course material. And yes I have all the plug-ins, etc in place. Konqueror does the same thing. Chrome I have tried, it does nothing, wont call up and run after install, and that install is designed for OpenSuSE.

So this leads me to believe the Web site is namely designed for IE, though you can do a check, and Firefox is ok, just not this version, as is the case for other non IE on Linux browsers.

So how can I run IE? I see with Googles that there is a way, but they are related to installing on the OpenSuSe OS. I've even considered Safari, but that also requires a lot of gyrations, and is designed for an OpenSuSE install so I prefer not to go thruogh the hassle only to more than likely lead to disappointment.

So how can IE work on SuSE SLES 11 Sp2?

Thanks, Jay

malcolmlewis
01-Oct-2012, 18:27
I'm not sure if this is the right group to post in, seems like the
closest.

I am on SLES 11 SP2, and have Firefox 10 for the browser. I can go to a
certain Web site (www.acm.org), and get all the way to the 'Launch
Course', and it not run the course material. And yes I have all the
plug-ins, etc in place. Konqueror does the same thing. Chrome I have
tried, it does nothing, wont call up and run after install, and that
install is designed for OpenSuSE.

So this leads me to believe the Web site is namely designed for IE,
though you can do a check, and Firefox is ok, just not this version, as
is the case for other non IE on Linux browsers.

So how can I run IE? I see with Googles that there is a way, but they
are related to installing on the OpenSuSe OS. I've even considered
Safari, but that also requires a lot of gyrations, and is designed for
an OpenSuSE install so I prefer not to go thruogh the hassle only to
more than likely lead to disappointment.

So how can IE work on SuSE SLES 11 Sp2?

Thanks, Jay



Hi
So is the site using flash, siverlight?

Do you have a link to where you get to in the process, or a screen shot
(use gimp to smudge out personal info)

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 0:27, 3 users, load average: 0.19, 0.19, 0.18
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

ab
01-Oct-2012, 19:08
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
Hash: SHA1

Also, just poking around I found this page designed to help people with
issues getting into some kind of courses on their site (maybe different
format than the ones the OP described):

http://learning.acm.org/about/skillsoft_faq.cfm

It specifically talks about Chrome users. The HTML for the first page
also has some hacks in there to make the page render properly for users
stuck on IE (which would imply the site works well with
standards-compliant browsers such as FF, Chrome, etc.).

I'd try to contact the site admins, or provide steps we can follow (I
don't have a login to their site, in case that's required). If that
doesn't work, Chrome (or Chromium for the open source project behind
Chrome) should probably work at least, and that usually means FF will too.

Good luck.
-----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
Version: GnuPG v2.0.19 (GNU/Linux)
Comment: Using GnuPG with Mozilla - http://www.enigmail.net/

iQIcBAEBAgAGBQJQadw9AAoJEF+XTK08PnB5J/AP/1rAv07Wl7zXpAgDWJPyux+7
iRWQySHYVW/LygUZ6zzeQw4YPSbg1WCNjSVVBesx9pAKALXvdhq4xiclZA0QS +p/
/ikXbRpn43VCTbIfOy+jGr5/XNeSS2Uvub9kQBri9/4RyIZj/un95NhJ70OTA6oH
eHN7jqU7Y/0R9P1/o7RiiIpgrXcfzlGRwXHfmhF1FMa9sT/WCEftJPwK3A4z/Jud
SI06WChlcpzsEUAEuLvXwHPd4ni5HG6zc/MBDgVhJZmrleFO96rdP8TmSpX7/E4y
tVS+4oYPWJby5wlhpCiQCwabv4WUn+UWkj23uR9W5CmAf9wUCp 64rfdiBq341Jhp
b9/Dz5mBzsiqTdaPTvHPes85bzGfVa3gzqyQuXKCGZxTknW5VZFDg JIn8QJaA/Md
m2RL7TG/XVBrEklMrWnYpFZ/+ToMxthCIrtpcSHwNkGpCtT09O/NjyOarm+kZDSs
SqdUKK9ZjJAnnBWYUsyDxifRk4xvuQ4ZroNQkQCo0QE8wNB+IW 9vUUBLYedhAU/H
fi8M9VCeKKawmgmMXUeQwi3699V9FsiKoOVPoPjKJXcvO49ROc/nZ8VKLcSSbV2U
WHMEekViw0LZYbhMrs3fsqZS8KerkzFiFZQgbn2unfMACJkHXx Hb1o3KsK9ywvLY
eMlZj8OvsIuSB7jKvUOB
=bVWK
-----END PGP SIGNATURE-----

malcolmlewis
01-Oct-2012, 19:46
Also, just poking around I found this page designed to help people with
issues getting into some kind of courses on their site (maybe different
format than the ones the OP described):

http://learning.acm.org/about/skillsoft_faq.cfm

Hi
Good spotting ab :)

I went here; http://learning.acm.org/about/skillsoft_faq.cfm#launch

After there test I got; http://paste.opensuse.org/29812135

But it shows;


Skillsoft has fully qualified the following web browsers for use with our applications and platforms.

Microsoft Windows Based Desktop

Microsoft Internet Explorer - 6.x-9.0
Mozilla Firefox - 2.0-15.0
Google Chrome - stable builds only

Macintosh Based Desktop

Safari - 3.0-5.1.7

Linux Based Desktop

Mozilla Firefox - 3.0.7-15.0

So this system has 10.0.7, so should be supported.... I'm guessing they need to sort out their test.... ;)

cjcox
01-Oct-2012, 20:51
On 10/01/2012 11:54 AM, jpquinn wrote:
>
> I'm not sure if this is the right group to post in, seems like the
> closest.
>
> I am on SLES 11 SP2, and have Firefox 10 for the browser. I can go to a
> certain Web site (www.acm.org), and get all the way to the 'Launch
> Course', and it not run the course material. And yes I have all the
> plug-ins, etc in place. Konqueror does the same thing. Chrome I have
> tried, it does nothing, wont call up and run after install, and that
> install is designed for OpenSuSE.
>
> So this leads me to believe the Web site is namely designed for IE,
> though you can do a check, and Firefox is ok, just not this version, as
> is the case for other non IE on Linux browsers.
>
> So how can I run IE? I see with Googles that there is a way, but they
> are related to installing on the OpenSuSe OS. I've even considered
> Safari, but that also requires a lot of gyrations, and is designed for
> an OpenSuSE install so I prefer not to go thruogh the hassle only to
> more than likely lead to disappointment.
>
> So how can IE work on SuSE SLES 11 Sp2?

I believe many of the course CAN be made to work. I tested using openSUSE 11.4
and that worked fine for me (I'm a long time acm member) for many courses. Did
my browser, etc. pass "validation".. no... but everything seemed to work anyway.

Will take me a bit longer to test this under SLES 11 SP2... but I'll try to post
back what I find. You likely have to have flash installed, and looks like you
have to have a java plugin (and if you know my prior posts over the years,
everybody depends upon the Sun version, and often times the openjdk one will
simply not work).

jpquinn
01-Oct-2012, 23:14
Yes I went through this too, yet it will report that the Version 10 is not an approved version of FF. Contradicts what their spec chart mentions.

Also, Chrome for SuSE is for OpenSuSe, as I tried it twice, but after install, it doesnt run.

As for detail in the form of a screen shot, it would be nothing but a launch splash saying "Loading..." of which it never does.

I was hoping that someone here would say that I could use IEs4Linux, and go through that mess. But it uses at last check on various links, as late of IE 6. I have no problem with a lower version, I want to know if someone has done this on SLES 11 SP2 64Bit and lived to tell about it.

Also, I would think that some other process, like WINE or VM, would work (Idea with IE running in WINE or VM (which ever is better)) , I have never used either before. I'm not afraid to move ahead for that challenge, it would be great to hear from someone or someone who knows someone who has done this successfully. And successfully would be to have IE run in/on (VM?) Linux, and be along to launch online courses that only IE can.

I have installed SLES 11, and now Oracle 11G, along with SQL Developer. My goal here is to use a Browser to do online Oracle training for certs, all on the same machine. So far, everything has been quite a steep technical challenge, there should be a cert for just getting all setup like this! :)

malcolmlewis
01-Oct-2012, 23:34
Yes I went through this too, yet it will report that the Version 10 is
not an approved version of FF. Contradicts what their spec chart
mentions.

Also, Chrome for SuSE is for OpenSuSe, as I tried it twice, but after
install, it doesn’t run.

As for detail in the form of a screen shot, it would be nothing but a
launch splash saying "Loading..." of which it never does.

I was hoping that someone here would say that I could use IEs4Linux,
and go through that mess. But it uses at last check on various links, as
late of IE 6. I have no problem with a lower version, I want to know if
someone has done this on SLES 11 SP2 64Bit and lived to tell about it.

Also, I would think that some other process, like WINE or VM, would
work (Idea with IE running in WINE or VM (which ever is better)) , I
have never used either before. I'm not afraid to move ahead for that
challenge, it would be great to hear from someone or someone who knows
someone who has done this successfully. And successfully would be to
have IE run in/on (VM?) Linux, and be along to launch online courses
that only IE can.

I have installed SLES 11, and now Oracle 11G, along with SQL Developer.
My goal here is to use a Browser to do online Oracle training for certs,
all on the same machine. So far, everything has been quite a steep
technical challenge, there should be a cert for just getting all setup
like this! :)



Hi
Really you should give them feedback to say it's not working
properly....

I use crossover to run IE 7 on the very rare occasion IE is needed.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.2 (x86_64) Kernel 3.4.6-2.10-desktop
up 5:35, 3 users, load average: 0.14, 0.19, 0.23
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

jpquinn
02-Oct-2012, 04:05
Ok, long story short, and we all love short stories, right?

My browser did not have the Java plugin. I dug up elsewhere off the Internet to do this, did so, and it now works.

Exit FF browser
cd /usr/lib64/firefox
mkdir plugins
chmod 755 plugins
ln -s /jdk/jdk-7u7-linux-x64/usr/java/jdk1.7.0_07/jre/lib/amd64/libnpjp2.so
Fired up FF browser
At the URL address bar: about:plugins <cr> (Displays all enabled plugins, and java is now all over the place)
Did one more back-check, went to tools, addons, plugins, it shows up now, and is already enabled

Went to ACM.org and tested out by launching a course, works like a champ.

Thank you all for your help!

Jay