PDA

View Full Version : I have a question about Suse Studio



andreamillspaugh
29-Nov-2012, 18:36
How or can I change the look and everything ealse, like the gui, and the
main menu, and if i can chage the lookin screen and loading screen stuff
like that is that possible to change in suse studio, I want to get ride
of that logo on the screen, I put my own logo but that suse studio logo
is still there and beable to add my own install instructions stuff like
that.


--
andreamillspaugh
------------------------------------------------------------------------
andreamillspaugh's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=70916
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=481017

hendersj
29-Nov-2012, 18:55
On Thu, 29 Nov 2012 17:36:01 +0000, andreamillspaugh wrote:

> How or can I change the look and everything ealse, like the gui, and the
> main menu, and if i can chage the lookin screen and loading screen stuff
> like that is that possible to change in suse studio,

You can change most of the branding elements in test drive.

> I want to get ride
> of that logo on the screen, I put my own logo but that suse studio logo
> is still there and beable to add my own install instructions stuff like
> that.

The free version of Studio does not have this capability - there is a
commercial version of the product that lets you remove the "Created by
SUSE Studio" watermark. Given that it's a free service, it's really not
too much to ask that they get some visibility from appliances created on
it - so disabling that is not something they've made easy to do before
downloading the appliance. Of course once you've created and downloaded
the appliance, you can do what you want with it.

Jim
--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell Knowledge Partner

andreamillspaugh
29-Nov-2012, 19:16
Im sorry for asking you this but what do you mean by branding elements
in test drive, dose the test drive let you change things, Im ok with the
water mark, one more thing, is there like a tutorial on this what you
can change and what you can not, one- I would like to change the install
instructions is that possible though the free verson, or what do you
think I should do get the real verson and change stuff around or us the
verson that they let you make, I just dont like the menu, Im using
ubuntu and I like it but its not realy customizable that much, so what
im saying is, Im looking for a linux that i can customiz it.I realy like
Suse Studio and I want to us it because you can add your own programs
thats on the list and stuff like that so I want to get to usto it . I
know I asked this question befor but where can I find scripts for the
suse studio at.Thanks for asking my question and help.


--
andreamillspaugh
------------------------------------------------------------------------
andreamillspaugh's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=70916
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=481017

andreamillspaugh
29-Nov-2012, 20:56
Is there a way to add a GUI in stade of useing the one that came with
suse studio?


--
andreamillspaugh
------------------------------------------------------------------------
andreamillspaugh's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=70916
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=481017

hendersj
29-Nov-2012, 22:21
On Thu, 29 Nov 2012 18:16:03 +0000, andreamillspaugh wrote:

> Im sorry for asking you this but what do you mean by branding elements
> in test drive,

"Branding elements" are what provides the look and feel. You can change
wallpapers and whatnot while in test drive.

> dose the test drive let you change things

Yes. That's one of the purposes - you start the test drive, make the
changes, and then extract the changes (as changed files) and re-import
those changes into the appliance. It's pretty straightforward, and
should be covered in the documentation pretty well. :)

I don't know if there's a tutorial, but again, I'd start with the doc and
just play around a bit. :)

Jim



--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell Knowledge Partner

hendersj
29-Nov-2012, 22:21
On Thu, 29 Nov 2012 19:56:03 +0000, andreamillspaugh wrote:

> Is there a way to add a GUI in stade of useing the one that came with
> suse studio?

I don't understand what you mean - you can install any package you like,
so if you want LXDE, you can select that, or GNOME, or KDE, or
whatever. :)

Jim



--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell Knowledge Partner

andreamillspaugh
29-Nov-2012, 22:46
Oh ok thanks so much for your help i will miss around with it to see how
it works and look at the docs thanks.


--
andreamillspaugh
------------------------------------------------------------------------
andreamillspaugh's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=70916
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=481017

hendersj
30-Nov-2012, 00:09
On Thu, 29 Nov 2012 21:46:02 +0000, andreamillspaugh wrote:

> Oh ok thanks so much for your help i will miss around with it to see how
> it works and look at the docs thanks.

No problem, glad to help out. :)

Jim



--
Jim Henderson, CNA6, CDE, CNI, LPIC-1, CLA10, CLP10
Novell Knowledge Partner