PDA

View Full Version : Setting rx=on interface SLE11 SP1



jhonatanrampin
23-Aug-2013, 20:00
Hi guys,

I'm having some issues about rx configuration on interface at SLE11 SP1.

Current settings:

sle11:~ # ethtool -a eth1
Pause parameters for eth1
Autonegotiate: on
RX: OFF
RX: OFF

Even when I type the command:
sle11:~ # ethtool -A eth1 rx on

sle11:~ # ethtool -a eth1
Pause parameters for eth1
Autonegotiate: on
RX: OFF
RX: OFF

rx still "off"

So I have tried to setting it up in interface configuration file.

ETHTOOL_OPTIONS='-A iface rx on'

I have used also:
ifdown eth1
ifup eth1

And rx is still off =/

Any idea? I have to set RX ON...

Thanks a million
Jhonatan Rampin

KBOYLE
23-Aug-2013, 23:43
jhonatanrampin wrote:

> I'm having some issues about rx configuration on interface at SLE11
> SP1.

You don't say if it was working with an earlier version of SLES or what
the nic make/model is. Is it possible that the nic doesn't support RX?

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

smflood
24-Aug-2013, 00:49
"KBOYLE" wrote:

> You don't say if it was working with an earlier version of SLES or what
> the nic make/model is. Is it possible that the nic doesn't support RX?

What does "ethtool -I eth1" report?

If NIC does support RX have you tried adding "options <NIC> RX=on" to
/etc/modprobe.conf?

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

jhonatanrampin
26-Aug-2013, 14:46
jhonatanrampin wrote:

> I'm having some issues about rx configuration on interface at SLE11
> SP1.

You don't say if it was working with an earlier version of SLES or what
the nic make/model is. Is it possible that the nic doesn't support RX?

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

It's working, but Oracle recommends those changes for Oracle Rack...

Check the output:
ethtool -i eth1
driver: bnx2
version: 2.0.4
firmware-version: bc 6.2.0 NCSI 2.0.11
bus-info: 0000:0b:00.1

It's a Broadcom NetXtreme II BCM5706 and and as I could see in a quick research, it's supported. But a lot of people had the same issue with this NIC...

jhonatanrampin
26-Aug-2013, 14:51
ethtool -i eth1
driver: bnx2
version: 2.0.4
firmware-version: bc 6.2.0 NCSI 2.0.11
bus-info: 0000:0b:00.1

I have not!
Sorry for asking, but how could I do it? Do you mind to explain?
Thanks!