PDA

View Full Version : Broken Video Display



John_Gill
29-Aug-2013, 08:11
Hi,

I have created a couple of "Applications" with Studio and have a problem with the video. The initial "SuseStudio" splash screen and the "Loading Linux Kernel" box is displayed correctly but then the video get corrupted (It looks like a snow storm:) At boot time I have changed the display to 1024x768 and 800x600 with no improvement. Anyway, if I boot with "Fail Safe" and then at the # prompt I run "startx" the video display comes up correctly.

Any ideas how to kick the video into place before creating the .iso file ....

Regards
John

John_Gill
02-Sep-2013, 12:58
Hi,

I did this stuff which seemed to fix the problem ....

From the prompt I ran "sax2 -r -m 0=vesa"
and then ran "cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install"
then rebooted the device and all is good again.

I hope this helps someone..
John

oldcpu
03-Sep-2013, 06:26
John Gill;2582396 Wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I did this stuff which seemed to fix the problem ....
>
> From the prompt I ran "sax2 -r -m 0=vesa"
> and then ran "cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install"
> then rebooted the device and all is good again.
>

Thanks for sharing your experience.

I am not a SuSE Studio user.

Still, with respect, if one wishes to force the use of the 'vesa'
driver, which is what you have done with your use of the sax2 command
and copying xorg.conf to xorg.conf.install, would not a cleaner way be
to edit the /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf file, and change it to:

Code:
--------------------

# Having multiple "Device" sections is known to be problematic. Make
# sure you don't have in use another one laying around e.g. in another
# xorg.conf.d file or even a generic xorg.conf file. More details can
# be found in https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=32430.
#
Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
#
# #Driver "radeon"
Driver "vesa"
#
# ## Required magic for radeon/radeonhd drivers; output name
# ## (here: "DVI-0") can be figured out via 'xrandr -q'
# #Option "monitor-DVI-0" "Default Monitor"
#
EndSection

--------------------


Also, I note that one's PC typically takes a performance 'hit' using the
vesa driver so that may not be the optimal solution.

If you provide information on your graphic card it may be possible for
one of our forum graphic gurus to advise a better way to get rid of the
corrupted video and still keep a superior performance graphic driver.

.... but glad to read you made progress with the vesa driver.


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=489924

John_Gill
03-Sep-2013, 07:30
Hey, thanks for your input.

The folder and file you suggest I change does not exist (/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf) Should I create this manually?

Regards
John

oldcpu
03-Sep-2013, 07:56
John Gill;2582547 Wrote:
> Hey, thanks for your input.
>
> The folder and file you suggest I change does not exist
> (/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf) Should I create this manually?
>

The directory is not /xorg.conf.d, but rather it is
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d.

Assuming that you just abbreviated your typing, and you did look for the
correct directory location, then my answer would be no. I don't think
you should.

This suggests to me that my lack of SuSE Studio knowledge may be leading
to an inappropriate suggestion on my part.

Nominally every installed recent openSUSE version will have an
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d directory with an
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/50-device.conf file. I do not know enough about
SuSE Studio to understand why it does not have such.


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=489924

John_Gill
03-Sep-2013, 09:09
Hi,

I checked again but no such folder or file. I built this application in SuSE Studio from a "Suse Linux Enterprise Desktop 11sp3" which may account for the missing files. Anyway the video is working so I am sort of happy. Thanks for your input.

Regards
John

Knurpht
03-Sep-2013, 09:46
John Gill;2582553 Wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I checked again but no such folder or file. I built this application in
> SuSE Studio from a "Suse Linux Enterprise Desktop 11sp3" which may
> account for the missing files. Anyway the video is working so I am sort
> of happy. Thanks for your input.
>
> Regards
> John
>
>
> --
> John_Gill
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> John_Gill's Profile: http://forums.suse.com/member.php?userid=343
> View this thread: http://forums.suse.com/showthread.php?t=3223

If this is for SLED, you're probably better of in the SUSE forums;
http://forums.suse.com


--
- Athlon X6 3.6 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, 30 GB SSD, 3 TB of disks, GT540,
openSUSE 12.2 x86_64 + KDE 4.10 + GNOME 3
- ASUS A73SD, Intel + GT610M Optimus, 6 GB, 120 GB SSD, openSUSE 12.3

ANYTHING THAT CAN GO WRONG.... WILL TEACH US

http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knurpht's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=783
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=489924

Knurpht
03-Sep-2013, 09:46
John Gill;2582553 Wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I checked again but no such folder or file. I built this application in
> SuSE Studio from a "Suse Linux Enterprise Desktop 11sp3" which may
> account for the missing files. Anyway the video is working so I am sort
> of happy. Thanks for your input.
>
> Regards
> John
>
>
> --
> John_Gill
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> John_Gill's Profile: http://forums.suse.com/member.php?userid=343
> View this thread: http://forums.suse.com/showthread.php?t=3223

Please try http://forums.suse.com , these are the openSUSE forums. SUSE
is different, the people in their forums will be better equipped to help
you


--
- Athlon X6 3.6 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, 30 GB SSD, 3 TB of disks, GT540,
openSUSE 12.2 x86_64 + KDE 4.10 + GNOME 3
- ASUS A73SD, Intel + GT610M Optimus, 6 GB, 120 GB SSD, openSUSE 12.3

ANYTHING THAT CAN GO WRONG.... WILL TEACH US

http://en.opensuse.org/User:Knurpht
http://nl.opensuse.org/Gebruiker:Knurpht
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Knurpht's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=783
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=489924

John_Gill
03-Sep-2013, 10:28
It would seem that the SuSE Studio forum is linked to both OpenSuSE and Suse so it does not matter where I post this ...... :)

Knurpht
03-Sep-2013, 10:55
It would seem that the SuSE Studio forum is linked to both OpenSuSE and Suse so it does not matter where I post this ...... :)

I see, well I hope some SUSE knowledge drops in soon :D.

oldcpu
03-Sep-2013, 12:56
John Gill;2582396 Wrote:
>
> I did this stuff which seemed to fix the problem ....
>
> From the prompt I ran "sax2 -r -m 0=vesa"
> and then ran "cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.install"
> then rebooted the device and all is good again.
>

wrt the solution you adopted, was it necessary to copy the content of
the xorg.conf into the xorg.conf.install ? Would it not work if both
files were present ?

My recollection with older openSUSE variants (which I believe SLED is
based upon) was that if there is an xorg.conf file present, it will take
priority over an xorg.conf.install, and hence there would be no need to
overwrite xorg.conf.install. Although I guess if one is installing from
the SuSE studio created .iso, then maybe one wishes a specific VESA
configuration to be applied in which case perhaps what you adopted is
nominally best. Typical openSUSE installs have a menu selection for
VESA, but its possible a SuSE studio .iso does not have such (we need
someone with SuSE studio experience to chime in here).

Also, I suppose having 2 files (xorg.conf and xorg.conf.install) uses up
more space than just having one file, which may be important if space is
a premium.


--
oldcpu
------------------------------------------------------------------------
oldcpu's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=77
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=489924

John_Gill
06-Sep-2013, 08:38
Hey oldcpu,

Well here is a funny story ..... So while trying to fix the snowy video, I changed the SaX2 config to use the VESA settings. A better display but a little out of focus (a bit like when I have had one too many whiskys). I also found the "Lock Screen" and "Logout" and "Restart" and "Switch User" didn't work properly. mmmh more stuff to try and fix later. I discovered that the video is an ATI Radeon embedded video. Downloaded the driver from the AMD site. It seems as if AMD now own ATI. (enuff with the acronyms). Back to the thin client I am trying to build (Thanks SuSE Studio). I try to install the video package in an X terminal and get weird errors, like insufficient disk space (500mb used to install the driver..., random shutdowns ......) Where to next, confusion reigns! Mumble grumble... So in a desperate attempt I now reboot the device in "failsafe mode" and login as root. I am now at run level 3 (I think), I reinstall the ATI driver and shutdown. Mutter mutter, curse, curse, if this doesn't work I think I will use the device as an anchor or something. Next thing the login box appears all crisp and clear and I login. Shutdown, Logout, Switch User and Restart all work again. Yah!! It's all linked together somewhere, hahaha .... So my job is done, onto the next project!