PDA

View Full Version : Setting iso repository for vm guest from phys host



lpphiggp
28-Feb-2014, 18:04
Hi, question.

I've got a Xen paravirtualized VM running SLES10/OES2, which is a post office; after the install the admin removed the CD and DVD drives that pointed to the Installation iso files that reside on the phys host to do another VM on that same host.

To apply updates on the first VM, I need to get the installation media back in it's repository.
Thing is, I'd rather avoid creating a DVD and CD drive in the VM if possible, because that'd require a reboot of a very busy GW post office server.

Is there a way I can specify a URL to the location of the ISOs on the phys host? Something similar to the hd:///?device=/dev/xvdc/ thing?
I tried hd:///?device=/Install/ISO/SLES10SP....iso (pointing it to the file) but that doesn't work, which I didn't' really expect it to.
I think it needs to point to a virtual drive (xvd~) off of the /dev directory?

There's no way to do this without rebooting the VM?

Thanks

KBOYLE
01-Mar-2014, 19:39
lpphiggp wrote:

> I'd rather avoid creating a DVD and CD drive in the VM if
> possible

When you have a Paravirtual DomU, you should remove the CD/DVD drive
after you have installed the system. For ongoing maintenance, especially
if you have several DomUs, this is the easiest way:

Set up an installation server on your DomO.
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/book_sle_deployment/data/sec_deployment_remoteinst_instserver.html

Setup a software repository on (each of) your DomU(s).
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/book_sle_deployment/data/sec_y2_sw_instsource.html


Since you are running OES, you would create one repository for SLES and
one for OES. I have provided links to SLESll documentation but the
procedure is the same for SLES10.


You really should upgrade to the current software releases. OES2 and
SLES10 are no longer supported. An installation server will certainly
help with the upgrades.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

lpphiggp
04-Mar-2014, 17:27
lpphiggp wrote:

> I'd rather avoid creating a DVD and CD drive in the VM if
> possible

When you have a Paravirtual DomU, you should remove the CD/DVD drive
after you have installed the system. For ongoing maintenance, especially
if you have several DomUs, this is the easiest way:

Set up an installation server on your DomO.
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/book_sle_deployment/data/sec_deployment_remoteinst_instserver.html

Setup a software repository on (each of) your DomU(s).
https://www.suse.com/documentation/sles11/book_sle_deployment/data/sec_y2_sw_instsource.html


Since you are running OES, you would create one repository for SLES and
one for OES. I have provided links to SLESll documentation but the
procedure is the same for SLES10.


You really should upgrade to the current software releases. OES2 and
SLES10 are no longer supported. An installation server will certainly
help with the upgrades.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...

Thanks Kevin.

We'll be migrating this server to a chassis sometime this year, but I'm aware it's getting long in the tooth.

I set up the NFS repo installation server on the phys host, but I seem to have issues getting to the VM to connect. Firewall is off on the VM, and the ports are open on the phys, so it can't be FW. nfsserver is definitely running on phys host.
I'm going over my syntax again.

The ISOs I'm using are under /Install/ISO, and that's the directory I pointed to when the repos were created; it created subfolders for each ISO (SLES and OES). Not sure if I have to point to the exact subdir or not, but basically, neither option seemed to work.

I'm getting permissions errors. I have the host wildcard set to simply *, I would think that would allow all servers to connect, but maybe that's too vague?

lpphiggp
04-Mar-2014, 17:54
Ah, nevermind.. I just went into the normal nfs server setup and added the server.

I'm set now, thanks!

KBOYLE
04-Mar-2014, 20:49
lpphiggp wrote:

>
> Ah, nevermind.. I just went into the normal nfs server setup and added
> the server.
>
> I'm set now, thanks!

There are several ways to implement this, as you now see. It's a matter
of what works best for you.

Glad we could help!

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...