PDA

View Full Version : Just spent the day with Windows 8



GofBorg
02-Feb-2012, 23:34
I have to admit...I like it even though it will
take a lot of adjustment to get used to it.

I can't tell you the shock and awe I had when the
Novell client actually installed....and works!
I nearly fell out of my chair.

Simon Flood
03-Feb-2012, 14:13
On 02/02/2012 22:34, GofBorg wrote:

> I have to admit...I like it even though it will
> take a lot of adjustment to get used to it.
>
> I can't tell you the shock and awe I had when the
> Novell client actually installed....and works!
> I nearly fell out of my chair.

Which Novell client did you use, NETX, VLM, Client32, ... ? ;-)
--
Simon
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you work with Novell technologies at a university, college or school?
If so, your campus could benefit from joining the Novell Technology
Transfer Partner (TTP) program. See novell.com/ttp for more details.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

craig wilson
03-Feb-2012, 15:03
On 2/3/2012 8:13 AM, Simon Flood wrote:
> On 02/02/2012 22:34, GofBorg wrote:
>
>> I have to admit...I like it even though it will
>> take a lot of adjustment to get used to it.
>>
>> I can't tell you the shock and awe I had when the
>> Novell client actually installed....and works!
>> I nearly fell out of my chair.
>
> Which Novell client did you use, NETX, VLM, Client32, ... ? ;-)

Well he did not specify NCP, so it may have been Novell Groupwise
Client........

--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.

Simon Flood
03-Feb-2012, 16:03
On 03/02/2012 14:03, craig wilson wrote:

> Well he did not specify NCP, so it may have been Novell Groupwise
> Client........

Did you notice which clients I asked about plus the ;-) ? Clue: they're
not for Windows 7!
--
Simon
Novell/SUSE/NetIQ Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Do you work with Novell technologies at a university, college or school?
If so, your campus could benefit from joining the Novell Technology
Transfer Partner (TTP) program. See novell.com/ttp for more details.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

GofBorg
03-Feb-2012, 20:04
Novell Client 2 SP1 for Windows 7(IR9a).

simonpalmer123
05-Mar-2012, 11:56
NCL2sp2 works. ZCM11SP1 agent won't install because there's not .net 3.5
(it's 4.0+? now). iprint won't install or work. Interesting, is this
because the Novell Client team are more forward thinking? ;) Also cool
with Win8 is the activesync integration, so groupwise via datasync is an
option.


--
simonpalmer123
------------------------------------------------------------------------
simonpalmer123's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=23264
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=451739

Anders Gustafsson
05-Mar-2012, 16:30
Simonpalmer123,
> ZCM11SP1 agent won't install because there's not .net 3.5

Tried installing it manually?

--
Anders Gustafsson (NKP)
The Aaland Islands (N60 E20)

Have an idea for a product enhancement? Please visit:
http://www.novell.com/rms

Bob Crandell
06-Mar-2012, 02:20
On Thu, 02 Feb 2012 22:34:43 +0000, GofBorg wrote:

> I have to admit...I like it even though it will take a lot of adjustment
> to get used to it.
>
> I can't tell you the shock and awe I had when the Novell client actually
> installed....and works! I nearly fell out of my chair.

I got my first look at Win 8 Friday then I went home and install openSUSE
12.1 Gnome. The similarity was startling. I haven't seen KDE yet.

lehmanp00
06-Mar-2012, 14:56
If you goto Settings>Control Panel>Programs>Programs and Features>Turn
Windows Features on and Off you can add .Net 3.5 (and 1 and 2). The ZCM
11.1 agent will get a little further but still error out saying the OS
type is unsupported or not found.


--
lehmanp00
------------------------------------------------------------------------
lehmanp00's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=25393
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=451739

leroyjjr
23-Mar-2012, 21:26
I'm a little late to the party but I like the look and feel of it,
but...... I have to get use to finding everthing again, UGH!


Leroy Joseph
Visual Click Software
(eDirectory Management and Reporting)
'eDirectory Management and Reporting | DSRAZOR for eDirectory'
(http://www.visualclick.com/content/dsrazor-for-edirectory.htm)


--
leroyjjr
------------------------------------------------------------------------
leroyjjr's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=75462
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=451739

unsigned
23-Mar-2012, 21:56
I played with it today.... and I don't like it. The interface is clearly
geared toward a tablet and not mousing or serious desktop use. Do they
actually expect horizontal scrolling across the Start tiles? In my VM
there are actually half tiles on the right edge, looks terrible. There
were several times that I was in a menu (or screen/tile) and couldn't
intuitively figure out how to get back to the Start screen. The
invisible menu that is activated at the right top and bottom corners is
the cumbersome answer. The user is supposed to wait for an invisible
pop-up menu?

That invisible popup bar provides contextual menu's, so the Start tiles
screen's settings are different than the desktop's settings. Seems
logical typed out here, but it in practice the settings presented don't
seem to be what my mind expects.

Somehow Control panel still exists, yet there is "More PC settings"
which I guess is Control Panel light, all the start menu/bar settings
mixed in with other items.

Somehow the IE Tile doesn't seem to load pages right, yet IE from the
desktop does. How are these different?

I usually embrace new interface design and really like the evolution of
windows over the years. I like elements from KDE and Gnome. I like OSX.
I like Windows phone, Metro is great there. this..... feels like an
interface train wreck. I'm sure with more time I would grow to find it
usable, but right now part of me is hoping most of Metro can be turned
off for Enterprise desktop use. In either case, hopefully they can
polish it over the RC's and into the final release.

bpenris
26-Mar-2012, 08:46
My experience with Windows 8 is quite extensive. This is the biggest
risk MS has ever taken and the product will fail miserably on business
desktops. Also, home users without a touch screen won't like that they
have to use a mouse to swipe away a picture before they can select which
user account they want to log on with.

They could've just left the start menu in and it would become a logical
upgrade (if the metro interface can be disabled by a GPO) but this... No
go.


--
bpenris
------------------------------------------------------------------------
bpenris's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=7496
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=451739

craig wilson
26-Mar-2012, 13:08
I suspect that the official release and perhaps certain versions of
Windows 8 will have the Start Menu and other items back from default.

There are sites that tell you how to bring them back, and I agree it
just does not make sense to have the default so different for Desktop
installs.

On 3/26/2012 3:46 AM, bpenris wrote:
>
> My experience with Windows 8 is quite extensive. This is the biggest
> risk MS has ever taken and the product will fail miserably on business
> desktops. Also, home users without a touch screen won't like that they
> have to use a mouse to swipe away a picture before they can select which
> user account they want to log on with.
>
> They could've just left the start menu in and it would become a logical
> upgrade (if the metro interface can be disabled by a GPO) but this... No
> go.
>
>


--
Craig Wilson - MCNE, MCSE, CCNA
Novell Knowledge Partner

Novell does not officially monitor these forums.

Suggestions/Opinions/Statements made by me are solely my own.
These thoughts may not be shared by either Novell or any rational human.

leroyjjr
26-Mar-2012, 21:56
Try installing the ZCM agent in Compatability mode. - (right Click on
the .exe and slect 'Properties' -> 'Compatibility' (tab) ->
'Compatability mode' (check box) - - change to Windows XP.



Leroy Joseph
Visual Click Software
(eDirectory Management and Reporting)
'eDirectory Management and Reporting | DSRAZOR for eDirectory'
(http://www.visualclick.com/content/dsrazor-for-edirectory.htm)


--
leroyjjr
------------------------------------------------------------------------
leroyjjr's Profile: http://forums.novell.com/member.php?userid=75462
View this thread: http://forums.novell.com/showthread.php?t=451739

Susan
27-Mar-2012, 01:37
Leroy:

Just a reminder that this is one of the few non-Novell/SuSE support
forums, so while we are happy to see your helpfulness, if such helpful
support for Novell products would be restricted to the appropriate
support forums, that would be appreciated.

Sometimes, with support that admins give each other in here for other
things, it's easy to forget that support for Novell products should be
placed in the support forums.

No blame, no shame. : )

--
Susan
Novell Community Chat Moderator

http://forums.novell.com/faq.php?faq=novfor#faq_rules
http://www.ncci.org NCCIrregulars Web Site

Please read the following before posting in here:
http://preview.tinyurl.com/27zopdy