PDA

View Full Version : LiveCD with KDE, built with SuseStudio doesn't work.



Vekt
10-Feb-2012, 19:26
Hello! I have created an appliance, and i have problems with booting
from it's LiveCD. When KDE is starting(I can see KDM splash), it stucks.
/etc/init.d/xdm restart doesn't help. init 3 and init 5-also don't help.
Here it the link to download my appliance:
'KDE 4 – SUSE Gallery' (http://susestudio.com/a/fkRwSh/kde-4)
It is 64-bit, based on OpenSuSE 12.1, has KDE4(all the packages
suggested by SuSE Studio when i choose the appliance category) and some
other packages, as Wine, Virtualbox, Firefox, etc...
Normal LiveCD(Downloaded from 'software.opensuse.org:
Загрузить openSUSE 12.1' (http://software.opensuse.org/121/ru))
boots correctly. My videocard is Nvidia GeForce GTX 260.
Please, help me with solving this problem.


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

malcolmlewis
10-Feb-2012, 19:41
Hello! I have created an appliance, and i have problems with booting
from it's LiveCD. When KDE is starting(I can see KDM splash), it stucks.
/etc/init.d/xdm restart doesn't help. init 3 and init 5-also don't help.
Here it the link to download my appliance:
'KDE 4 – SUSE Gallery' (http://susestudio.com/a/fkRwSh/kde-4)
It is 64-bit, based on OpenSuSE 12.1, has KDE4(all the packages
suggested by SuSE Studio when i choose the appliance category) and some
other packages, as Wine, Virtualbox, Firefox, etc...
Normal LiveCD(Downloaded from 'software.opensuse.org:
Загрузить openSUSE 12.1' (http://software.opensuse.org/121/ru))
boots correctly. My videocard is Nvidia GeForce GTX 260.
Please, help me with solving this problem.



Hi
Did you try running your appliance in Test drive? Have you tried the
nomodeset option in grub?

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
up 1 day 14:41, 4 users, load average: 0.02, 0.07, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Vekt
10-Feb-2012, 19:56
I've now tried to run it on TestDrive, and it has also stuck on KDE
start. I've also tried to run it on TestDrive(I've no possibility to run
it on a real competer now, but if You say i should try to, i will try it
tomorrow) with "nomodeset" parameter and it has also stuck.


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

Vekt
11-Feb-2012, 06:16
I am now building the same appliance, but with Nvidia and Nouveau
drivers. Probably, it'll even work)


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

Vekt
11-Feb-2012, 07:16
It has also stuck. fuuu


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

malcolmlewis
11-Feb-2012, 14:42
It has also stuck. fuuu



Hi
You probably need to add the basic install and only add a few
additional applications and try to build.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
up 8:48, 3 users, load average: 0.09, 0.05, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Vekt
11-Feb-2012, 16:06
malcolmlewis;2439450 Wrote:
> Hi
> You probably need to add the basic install and only add a few
> additional applications and try to build.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
> openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
> up 8:48, 3 users, load average: 0.09, 0.05, 0.05
> CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU
First i have tried building appliance only with KDE. Only after it i've
tried adding nvidia and nouveau drivers.


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

malcolmlewis
11-Feb-2012, 16:21
malcolmlewis;2439450 Wrote:
> Hi
> You probably need to add the basic install and only add a few
> additional applications and try to build.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
> openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
> up 8:48, 3 users, load average: 0.09, 0.05, 0.05
> CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU
First i have tried building appliance only with KDE. Only after it i've
tried adding nvidia and nouveau drivers.



Hi
You would need to add them when your on Test drive, then save the
configuration changes, then build your image.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
up 10:28, 4 users, load average: 0.00, 0.03, 0.11
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Vekt
11-Feb-2012, 17:56
malcolmlewis;2439466 Wrote:
> Hi
> You would need to add them when your on Test drive, then save the
> configuration changes, then build your image.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
> openSUSE 12.1 (x86_64) Kernel 3.1.9-1.4-desktop
> up 10:28, 4 users, load average: 0.00, 0.03, 0.11
> CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Please tell me concretely, what i should do. I don't understand,sorry.


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

malcolmlewis
11-Feb-2012, 18:35
malcolmlewis;2439466 Wrote:
> Hi
> You would need to add them when your on Test drive, then save the
> configuration changes, then build your image.
>
Please tell me concretely, what i should do. I don't understand,sorry.



Hi
Just build a default install of the DE with your configurations eg
bootscreen logo, users etc. You can then upload files to say the /root
users directory (so they don't install). Then boot to test drive,
manually install, open a new susestudio web page while still in test
drive and update/save the configuration. You can then build your image
and you should be good to go. You might want to skip the video drivers
if they are causing an issue, but you can have them sitting in a
directory somewhere, ready to install.

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.19-default
up 1:32, 2 users, load average: 0.15, 0.06, 0.06
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Vekt
12-Feb-2012, 06:06
malcolmlewis;2439499 Wrote:
> Hi
> Just build a default install of the DE with your configurations eg
> bootscreen logo, users etc. You can then upload files to say the /root
> users directory (so they don't install). Then boot to test drive,
> manually install, open a new susestudio web page while still in test
> drive and update/save the configuration. You can then build your image
> and you should be good to go. You might want to skip the video drivers
> if they are causing an issue, but you can have them sitting in a
> directory somewhere, ready to install.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
> SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.19-default
> up 1:32, 2 users, load average: 0.15, 0.06, 0.06
> CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

I've tried building just KDE. Without anything added. Stuck(


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

malcolmlewis
18-Feb-2012, 00:36
malcolmlewis;2439499 Wrote:
> Hi
> Just build a default install of the DE with your configurations eg
> bootscreen logo, users etc. You can then upload files to say the /root
> users directory (so they don't install). Then boot to test drive,
> manually install, open a new susestudio web page while still in test
> drive and update/save the configuration. You can then build your image
> and you should be good to go. You might want to skip the video drivers
> if they are causing an issue, but you can have them sitting in a
> directory somewhere, ready to install.
>
> --
> Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
> SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.19-default
> up 1:32, 2 users, load average: 0.15, 0.06, 0.06
> CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

I've tried building just KDE. Without anything added. Stuck(



Hi
Strange indeed, what if you try a JeOS build? You can build up from
this, but I wonder if it's a Studio issue....

--
Cheers Malcolm °¿° (Linux Counter #276890)
SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop 11 (x86_64) Kernel 3.0.13-0.19-default
up 1 day 19:38, 2 users, load average: 0.00, 0.01, 0.05
CPU Intel i5 CPU M520@2.40GHz | Intel Arrandale GPU

Vekt
04-Mar-2012, 15:06
I tried JeOS+ kde. Same result. And even livecd based on KDE4 Reloaded(a
famous LiveCD) doesn't work. Might there be a problem with my
modifications, like setting Russian Language, Moscow timezone, disabling
firewal?


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304

Vekt
30-Mar-2012, 12:26
I found out, what the problem appears because of Russian language
specified. With English there is no problem.


--
Vekt
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Vekt's Profile: http://forums.opensuse.org/member.php?userid=65625
View this thread: http://forums.opensuse.org/showthread.php?t=472304