PDA

View Full Version : How to restrict resident memory usage of a process



arun_sl
23-Feb-2012, 07:05
Hello All,

I am aware that using limit I can limit virtual memory allocated for a process, but it results in the application crashing on exceeding the limit.

My question is how can I limit the usage of resident memory on an SLES machine for a process so that if it exceeds the limit page fault should force the process to swap in and out. The idea is that I want the process to still run on my system but not exceed the resident memory limit set.

Thanking you in anticipation,

Arun S L.

Automatic reply
01-Mar-2012, 14:30
arun,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

Has your issue been resolved? If not, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting, please ignore and accept our apologies
and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand to our posting bot.

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

arun_sl
02-Mar-2012, 08:11
Does this reply means that no one is out there who is technically equipped to post an answer?

Or if such a person exists he maybe on a vacation / have not just stumbled upon this post.

Anyway, it does not seem to be a good idea to deprive the issuer of question of any further notification. please program your bot appropriately :)

Yes, I am talking about the following part That I received in a mail to the notification of the bots reply:

There may also be other replies, but you will not receive any more notifications until you visit the forum again.

All the best,
SUSE Forums

KBOYLE
02-Mar-2012, 21:42
arun sl wrote:

>
> Does this reply means that no one is out there who is technically
> equipped to post an answer?

It simply means that no one has posted a reply. It also notifies
Knowledge Partners and forum administrators that your question has not
been answered to encourage those of us who may not feel qualified to
answer to offer a few suggestions.


>
> Or if such a person exists he maybe on a vacation / have not just
> stumbled upon this post.
>
> Anyway, it does not seem to be a good idea to deprive the issuer of
> question of any further notification. please program your bot
> appropriately :)
>
> Yes, I am talking about the following part That I received in a mail
> to the notification of the bots reply:
>
> There may also be other replies, but you will not receive any more
> notifications until you visit the forum again.
>
> All the best,
> SUSE Forums


You make a good point. I will bring it to the attention of the forum
administrators.

--
Kevin Boyle - Knowledge Partner
If you find this post helpful and are using the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...