PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a SLES PXE Boot server



jgosney
09-Sep-2015, 14:45
Hi all,

We are trying to set up a SLES 11 box as a PXE boot server. Our desire is to create .img files using the DD command of base-line servers, copy the .img to this PXE boot server, and then use new server's PXE boot option to automatically connect and install the image.

We are using the instructions found on https://tr.opensuse.org/SuiSE_install_with_PXE_boot and are running into questions.

We have the boot server configured with TFTP but we are having some concerns with DHCP. Evidently the PXE process needs DHCP to connect to the PXE boot server but we already have DHCP configured in our environment -- it is handled by the Windows side of things. If we configure this PXE boot server with DHCP, how do we prevent it from interfering with the corporate enterprise DHCP process?

Jim Gosney

ab
09-Sep-2015, 16:40
On 09/09/2015 07:54 AM, jgosney wrote:
>
> We are trying to set up a SLES 11 box as a PXE boot server. Our desire
> is to create .img files using the DD command of base-line servers, copy
> the .img to this PXE boot server, and then use new server's PXE boot
> option to automatically connect and install the image.
>
> We are using the instructions found on
> https://tr.opensuse.org/SuiSE_install_with_PXE_boot and are running into
> questions.
>
> We have the boot server configured with TFTP but we are having some
> concerns with DHCP. Evidently the PXE process needs DHCP to connect to
> the PXE boot server but we already have DHCP configured in our
> environment -- it is handled by the Windows side of things. If we
> configure this PXE boot server with DHCP, how do we prevent it from
> interfering with the corporate enterprise DHCP process?

1. Separate the networks
2. Exclude your Linux box's MAC addresses from the corporate DHCP server
(assuming it's possible to do so with that product).

A better option may be:

3. Configure the corporate DHCP server with PXE information. It will
only matter if the machines boot from the PXE server as an option, and
most systems should not bother doing that. At the same time, the systems
that should (yours) will, and can move along.

--
Good luck.

If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
show your appreciation and click on the star below...