PDA

View Full Version : SLES 11 SP4 Update to SLES12 SP1 from SLES11 SP4



mikenash
13-Apr-2016, 21:01
I am planning to upgrade a SLES11 SP4 system to SLES12 SP1 and need some information.
The SLES11 SP4 system is an LVM root extended with several other volumes.
Do I select all dasd volumes when I perform the update?

Automatic reply
18-Apr-2016, 05:30
mikenash,

It appears that in the past few days you have not received a response to your
posting. That concerns us, and has triggered this automated reply.

These forums are peer-to-peer, best effort, volunteer run and that if your issue
is urgent or not getting a response, you might try one of the following options:

- Visit http://www.suse.com/support and search the knowledgebase and/or check all
the other support options available.
- Open a service request: https://www.suse.com/support
- You could also try posting your message again. Make sure it is posted in the
correct newsgroup. (http://forums.suse.com)

Be sure to read the forum FAQ about what to expect in the way of responses:
http://forums.suse.com/faq.php

If this is a reply to a duplicate posting or otherwise posted in error, please
ignore and accept our apologies and rest assured we will issue a stern reprimand
to our posting bot..

Good luck!

Your SUSE Forums Team
http://forums.suse.com

smflood
18-Apr-2016, 11:05
On 13/04/16 21:04, mikenash wrote:

> I am planning to upgrade a SLES11 SP4 system to SLES12 SP1 and need some
> information.
> The SLES11 SP4 system is an LVM root extended with several other
> volumes.

So you have your root volume extended via LVM over several disks?

> Do I select all dasd volumes when I perform the update?

I think that will depend on which filesystems are held on all the volumes.

Please can you post the output from "fdisk -l && pvs && lvs && vgs".

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

mikenash
18-Apr-2016, 14:02
Hello Simon, greetings. Thank you for our response. I continued with the upgrade and specified all volumes include in the LVM "/" root directory. The upgrade went well. The upgrade appeared to analyze the "/" root and selected only the boot volume. I do not know how the upgrade would have behaved if there was data in any of the other volumes included in the "/" root LVM volume.