PDA

View Full Version : the start bar disappeared & hidden



ugurseluloz
26-Apr-2017, 09:37
pls see below the secreen-shot of the problem we are having; the start bar disappeared.
Thanks forthe help.
screenshot desktop ;
https://yadi.sk/i/eOqyjamt3HMxSq

smflood
26-Apr-2017, 10:54
On 26/04/17 09:44, ugurseluloz wrote:

> pls see below the secreen-shot of the problem we are having; the start
> bar disappeared.
> Thanks forthe help.
> screenshot desktop ;
> https://yadi.sk/i/eOqyjamt3HMxSq

Which version and release of SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop (SLED) are
you using? Please can you post the output from "cat /etc/*release".

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

ugurseluloz
26-Apr-2017, 12:16
LSB_VERSION="core-2.0-noarch:core-3.2-noarch:core-4.0-noarch:core-2.0-x86_64:core-3.2-x86_64:core-4.0-x86_64"
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86_64)
VERSION = 11
PATCHLEVEL = 3

malcolmlewis
26-Apr-2017, 13:30
Hi
If you open a terminal and run the command;


gnome-panel

Do you get an error about a panel already running?

If not, either it's set to autohide or the size has been reduced.

If you login as a user (rather than root) does the panel appear?

ugurseluloz
26-Apr-2017, 13:49
hi! my friend.

uskhana:~/Desktop # gnome-panel
Cannot register the panel shell: there is already one running.

malcolmlewis
26-Apr-2017, 14:07
hi! my friend.

uskhana:~/Desktop # gnome-panel
Cannot register the panel shell: there is already one running.
Hi
OK, from the same terminal run;


killall gnome-panel

Does it re-appear?

If you move the mouse pointer to the bottom (where you think it is), does it re-appear, or if you right-click in this area do you get a selection for panel properties?

Also try this on the top, left and right parts of the screen, just in case it's accidentally been set to autohide and position...

ugurseluloz
26-Apr-2017, 14:32
great!!! my friend.
thank you so much.
Was!

smflood
26-Apr-2017, 14:54
On 26/04/17 12:24, ugurseluloz wrote:

> LSB_VERSION="core-2.0-noarch:core-3.2-noarch:core-4.0-noarch:core-2.0-x86_64:core-3.2-x86_64:core-4.0-x86_64"
> SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 11 (x86_64)
> VERSION = 11
> PATCHLEVEL = 3

FYI for future reference you are using SUSE Linux Enterprise Server
(SLES) so should post in the SLES-related forums @
https://forums.suse.com/forumdisplay.php?8-SUSE-Linux-Enterprise-Server
rather than here in a forum related to SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop (SLED).

HTH.
--
Simon
SUSE Knowledge Partner

------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you find this post helpful and are logged into the web interface,
please show your appreciation and click on the star below. Thanks.
------------------------------------------------------------------------